This Man / Beneath This Man

this-man-seriesThis Man
Beneath This
Man
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Published by Forever Publishing
480 & 544 pages
Genre: erotica
Thanks to NetGalley for the preview
2 / 5 for This Man and 1 / 5 for Beneath This Man


Boy, was I excited to get to read these books. They are on Amazon’s list of best sellers for erotica, and they seem to be emerging as books to read.

Boy, do I wish I hadn’t wasted my time.

I can sum up the first two books of this series thusly: Ava and Jesse meet cute, are drawn to each other, rock the headboard a LOT, yell at each other, scream out their sexual releases, yell some more, rock the headboard some more, yell, scream, yell, scream.

Rinse, repeat.

If you enjoyed these books, you must tell me why. Because I think they were awful.

For one thing, I kept thinking they were homages to other books. Ava is young, just getting started professionally, and gets selected by Jesse to design the interior of one of his properties (shades of Eva and Gideon in the Bared to You series). Jesse enjoys being the Dominant in their sexual shenanigans (shades of … well … You Know Who and a lot of other characters). Ava gets upset and runs away (Eva and Gideon again). Jesse has a hard time opening up (shades of every freaking Dominant in erotica, except for Søren in Tiffany Reisz’s Original Sinners series). Ava has a hard time coming to terms with her desires (shades of every freaking Submissive in erotica, except for Nora Sutherlin, bless her).

There is just nothing new here whatsoever. Not even the characters are original, aside from Ava’s job. Everything else is predictable.

And let me tell you: the shouting? Gets REALLY OLD. Ava constantly shouts at Jesse, and he constantly shouts at her. It’s a wonder that they don’t have laryngitis.

I tried. Goodness knows, I tried. I made it through the first book, for all of its considerable flaws, and thought, “Meh. But maybe the second one will be better.”

Beneath This Man was WORSE. The yelling? It CONTINUES. And I’m using SHOUTY CAPS to make it CLEAR.

I couldn’t finish the second one.

And that’s saying something, because I love erotica. LOVE IT.

The headboard rockin’? It’s hot. But it’s also a complete rehash of other books of better quality. Ava and Jesse don’t even do anything innovative in the sack.

You know it’s bad when even the sexy times can’t keep you interested in an EROTICA NOVEL.

My advice: avoid, avoid, avoid. There are far better books out there.

In fact, check out C. C. Gibbs’ All He Wants and All He Needs. They are far better, far more engaging, far hotter, and far more interesting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

